Floyd Mayweather, Canelo Alvarez and Anthony Joshua Earn WBC 2015 Awards


Floyd Mayweather has been handed the Lifetime Achievement Award at the WBC Annual Convention in Kunming, China.

Mayweather was the recipient of what Boxing News 24 described as “the highest honour ever presented to a boxer.”

The ceremony also heralded Saul “Canelo” Alvarez after his brilliant 2015 and British heavyweight prospect Anthony Joshua, as noted by the WBC’s official website.

Mayweather hung up his gloves after fighting Andre Berto last September. It saw the American end his career with an immaculate record of 49 wins from 49 fights, putting him alongside the great Rocky Marciano and, in the eyes of many, among the best competitors the sweet science has seen.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s